strawberrri.diaryland.com
All clean now
2002-08-26 | 2:14 p.m.

I was going to write an entry about my time at the Reading Festival but I don't think it's actually possible to put into words what an amazing time I had. I think the phrase 'Best weekend of my fucking life' is the closest you'll get.

The three days of the festival just seemed to merge into one, and it went so quickly. I was really sad coming home today :( However I was glad to be able to finally wash my hair, wash all the mud off me and also for the fact that I can't remember the last time I sat on a chair. Oh, and the toilets.

So anyway, I saw the following bands in the following order:

Friday: Moldy Peaches, Soundtrack of Our Lives, Mercury Rev, Dandy Warhols, White Stripes, Weezer, Electric Soft Parade, Breeders, Feeder, Pulp, The Strokes.

Saturday: Sahara Hotnights, Less Than Jake, A, The Hives, Sum 41, Cooper Temple Clause, Ash, Muse, Foo Fighters.

Sunday: Deathcab For Cutie, Hoggboy, Raging Speedhorn, Amen, Hundred Reasons, Puddle of Mudd, NOFX, Slipknot, The Offspring, Prodigy.

Many humorous things happened over the four days spent there, including pitching our tent, leaving it and then not being able to find it (thought it had been stolen but we were just being dopey and not looking in the right place).

Moshing! Wow, I never knew it was so much fun! Bit painful at times but if I needed to get out I just repeated "I'm gonna be sick, I'm gonna be sick" and instantly a path would be created. That's what I did during Feeder anyway. Ended up right near the front and people were moshing so violently. I had this rather large man in front of me and everytime he jumped it would create a tidal wave vacuum of air that sucked me in. Which was unpleasant.

Also befriended some nice peeps from Derby, whose camp fire we went back to every night after the bands had finished playing. Saturday night I had had too much drink and weed and I remember stumbling back to the tent with Kate, only I needed to use the toilet (they were like cesspits) and got all disorientated and spent ten minutes walking in the wrong direction all the way back to the arena rather than our campsite area.

And it didn't rain much! It only pelted it down for a while during Muse, but seeing as it was Muse it didn't matter in the slightest. On Friday I remember being stuck next to Mercury Rev's biggest fan whilst they were playing. He was a middle aged bloke with dyed red hair who crazily danced and sang at the band, and had seen them five times in the past two years. Apparently.

Well, I feel I have rambled on quite enough. Definitely, definitely DEFINITELY going back next year. I've never enjoyed myself, had so many laughs and experienced such good live music this much until now.

And one more thing - BOLLOOOOOOOOCKS!



previous | next