strawberrri.diaryland.com
The end of a cruel summer
2002-08-31 | 8:20 p.m.

Having two really good (mini) holidays in a row is quite cheeky really. Skegness was fantastic, second only to the Reading Festival. Antics involved tennis, cricket, beach, arcades, dance machines, some amusement park type place called Fantasy Island, going out and getting slaughtered and staying in and getting slaughtered with the most amusing drinking game involving playing cards and shots of cider. Yum.

I also discovered that sharing a chalet with five males between the ages of 18 and 21 is actually very fun, although apparently I snore, according to Daniel, who I was sharing a room with. There were girls too, but they were in a different chalet. Don't be confused - I just went on holiday with some friends and some friends of my friends. Or something. Yus...

Many catchphrases were used although they'll just sound stupid if you weren't actually there and I only know of one person who reads this who was there but I'm going to write them down anyway otherwise I'll probably forget them due to my brain having been slowly dissolving over the past three months.

1) (When playing a prank on someone) "It's a cruel summer.....You decide how cruel."

2) (When Anthony was coming out with the most inane drivel) *in voice of Frank from Vicar of Dibley* "And in 1952 I went to the shop and bought a paperclip!"

3) (For encouragement) "Come on you Rosti!"

There are more, but meh, and I feel ridiculous enough for writing those ones down as they were very very much 'had to be there' moments but at the end of la jour it's my diary and I can write in it what I bloody well like (even though I can't find the hash key on this keyboard and the @ and " keys are mixed up, which is rather confusing).

Where was I again?

Oh yeah, Skegness. It was so much fun! Although it felt I had only been there five minutes when we all had to leave again. But I'm not even home yet, I'm staying at Ben and Rachel's (in the shire of Cambridge) as I didn't fancy going home just yet and I have tomorrow booked off work so I might as well make use of my day off even though it will just involve lazing around their house and possibly eating all their food depending on how hungry I get.

I got lost earlier too. I got dropped off at one house then had to walk to where I am now, and it's meant to be a five minute journey. But I unfortunately got lost and ended up going on an hour's tour of the village wondering if I was ever going to make it here alive.

So I'm going home Monday morning I do believe, only for the fact that I have to work in the evening although I could call in sick but then again I don't want to wear out my welcome here especially since it was I who asked to stay a few extra days. Hmmmm.

Question: Where the fuck has this summer gone exactly? It's September tomorrow and that scares me a little as I start university on the 23rd (I think) and I will miss quite a lot of people around here :(

Doesn't the World Cup seem years ago?

(Hash key if I could find it) He had the Midas touch, but he touched it too much, it's Goldmember.. it's Goldmember.

8.43 now. I've been writing this thing for 23 minutes. I think I best end here then!



previous | next