strawberrri.diaryland.com
One of those days
2002-12-17 | 8:28 p.m.

I thought that having 13 and a half hours of sleep in one night would be a good thing. Was I right? Um...no. Last night I felt like I didn't sleep at all. Tossing and turning. Kept looking at my phone clock (the jellyfish is under my desk somewhere because its tick-tocking made me want to chuck it out my window despite the fact that it is glittery and clockish and, well, a jellyfish). 3.00 am. 4.30 am. 5.45 am. 6-something-am, and then I heard my mum and Frank get up and leave for work. I KNOW I must have got some sleep because I dreamt that I had to get a ferry to get back to Leicester. There IS a river somewhere in Leicester but I have never met it, so it was, was a dream.

Christmas shopping from now on is in nightmare fever. I biked to town today, which just made my ears whistle and hurt like fuck from the cold and wind. I was desperate to buy something 'formal' for the ceremony on Thursday and ended up buying a £25 shirt from Next. And I don't even have a job to pay for it. Bye bye money. Bye bye overdraft. And I bought my mum the Queen Greatest Hits Platinum-thingy-bob. She only wanted the one with Bohemian Rhapsody on it (could have copied my mp3 of it for her onto one of the hundreds of blank cds I've got for nothing but that's not the point really), and it only worked out a couple of quid extra for the three cds in one whereas they sell them individually for about 13 quid each.

I have had a strange letter from uni saying they've cancelled my Direct Debit payment for my tuition fees as they have been "advised that the loan company are fully responsible for the payment" of my fees. Actually it's my LEA, but do they care? Fuck no! In my first week at uni I was told TWICE that I couldn't register as I hadn't brought with me an LEA document saying they were paying for my fees as I come from a lone parent family. Boo hoo woe is me, the poor little poor girl. I didn't have to tell them that my dad owns his own company and between them could have paid for the fees BUT I was refused registration twice until I got this sodding bit of paper, and I went home and cried each time (because I had no sodding idea where this bit of paper was and the people were so un-fucking-sympathetically unhelpful, and I thought I would never register and be sent back to Stevenage after the first week of uni was over and I still hadn't registered). Anyway, I'm still allowed back next term, and did manage to register in the end so something must have gone right.

Ooh and I have the orthodontist tomorrow (not the one whose thumb I once bit on purpose, luckily). I've only been going for seven years, and I haven't had braces for five years but still they keep me going. Eccentric old dude will probably have me sent off for more x-rays as my wisdom teeth haven't come through yet, but it's one way to spend my morning I suppose. I'd not rather be lying in bed asleep, oh no. Of course not.



previous | next