strawberrri.diaryland.com
Auf Wiedersehn
2003-02-17 | 1:51 p.m.

Dear Lord it's that time of the year again when I'm going to have to consider thinking about the possibility of perhaps maybe doing some real work. Or in other words: I have three essays due in in two weeks' time. Bollocks.

Had a fairly good weekend though. Well, interesting anyway. Ended up going to the union Friday night, which is where my liver broke up with me. I'd been drinking wine, then double vodkas and cokes. And at one drunkenly point I remember thinking to myself 'Ooh, this'll be my last one,' but NO I went on to have two more doubles and then spent an hour chucking up in the union toilets then wandering around telling people that I felt like I was dying. It wasn't my fault I felt like that though - it was the vodka. I find that I can drink fuckloads of it and not feel even remotely merry, then I'll have one more shot and lose the use of my legs, speech and morals.

And then Saturday night was probably The Worst Night Out I've Ever Had, but I can look back on it and laugh now, in hindsight. The scouser Laura had had a date with a Frenchman (called Dino - hahahahah) at Undecided that night. Guess who got dragged along...? Well, it WOULD have been ok if Frenchie hadn't kept dragging Laura off, leaving me with his German friend who looked about the same age as a 40 year old walnut. So I was basically stranded with a German for the entire night.

Oh God...his English was so poor that it was actually getting embarrassing when he asked me the same question SIX times and I still didn't have the foggiest what he was going on about:

"Blah blah blah blah (some indecipherable attempt at English)?"

"Where do I live? Oh, Leicester,"

"No, no, blah blah blah?"

"Where am I FROM? Well, I'm from Hertfordshire,"

"NO, NO blablahblahblah jsgaiusgfbpaiibgfuipa?"

I think he was asking me when my exams were, but I'm still not entirely sure. And I asked him what his name was but definitely didn't understand the answer. It might have been Fritz I suppose. The night got worse when he started saying "Sarra, Sarra, I ask you bad question do you have boyfriend?"

"YES."

And ten minutes later, "Sarra, Sarra I ask you other bad question can I kiss you?"

I ran to the toilets at this point in desperate search of any random people that spoke English and then told Laura I wanted to go home, only it didn't make any difference as it was 5 to 1.00 and the place shut at 1.00 anyway. But then, ahaha, we had to wait about 30 minutes for a taxi and thus 30 more minutes of Fritz and his bungled attempt at the English language. I had nightmares about him that night.

But I'm ok now; I've recovered from the ordeal and feeling dandy. And my cystitis is finally completely gone! I had to take some powdered stuff that you had to mix in with water, and it seemed to do the trick poifectly. I didn't even finish off the entire course of treatment. I thought it would taste far nicer mixed in with Sprite rather than water, only this caused a mini explosion of froth all over my room, and then I gagged when taking it another time because it tasted so vile, so I didn't take it again after that, but I've managed to become completely cured anyway. So...yay! C'est wunderbar!



previous | next