strawberrri.diaryland.com
For a minute there I lost myself
2003-06-30 | 7:30 p.m.

My hair is clean! My body is not filthy and stinking and covered in mud and germs! Yay!

Glastonbury was alright. Pretty good I suppose. Actually, replace 'alright' with 'fucking amazing' and 'pretty good' with 'mind-blowingly fantastic' and that'll be a much more appropriate description.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaahh it was so much fun! If I wasn't so knackered I would be CRYING because it is over. It was just...amazing. No description I give could ever give what it's really like justice as there's no way I could accurately describe the sights, sounds, smells (let's ignore the toilets, eh?) and general atmosphere of the place. What surprised me most is the fact that is two to three times the size of the Reading festival. It was so enormous that despite it being a three day festival I didn't even go to every part of it - Kiddies land and the fun fair being an example.

Even the journey there was kind of fun. It took ten hours when it should have taken three. Our party got split because my brother had a reserved seat ticket as did most of his friends. Myself and my best friend and two of my brother's uni friends got put in a cage at Paddington station and made to wait while I deliberated revolting and rioting and after a while were sent to Taunton. From Taunton we were sent to Castle Cary. At Castle Cary station they were being ridiculously vigilant with ticket checking. I recall hearing some girl saying "Why did that man smell my rail card?" as well as one of my brother's uni friends being briefly arrested for forgery I think it was, which delayed us further.

The way back wasn't like that. We didn't sleep last night and just got one of the first buses that left the festival at 4.00 am and I am proud to say that out of the 120,000 + people at the festival we were the ones who got on the very first train back to London. I finally made use of the free ear plugs given out at the festival on the train as there was a man heavily snoring and if I hadn't have had them then I might have been tempted to go over and twat him round the head with my fuck off huge backpack or pinch his nose until he stopped breathing.

Ok, ok I'll cut the crap: My ears are still ringing, I got ridiculously sunburnt on Saturday and was left with a series of blisters on my ear, which, on Sunday, all burst when a crowd surfer landed on my head during the Manics, someone used me as a battering ram in the mosh pit during Idlewild's performance, which I actually enjoyed more than REM - maybe a contributing factor to this was because I fell down a pothole on the way back to the tents after REM's performance, I managed to bump into a bloke who works at a pub I frequent at Leicester as well as my UNCLE of all people and Angela Griffin (who was with a co-star who seemed considerably pissed off that I didn't recognise who he was), there was a hippy village that had human sized BIRD NESTS to sit in and other hippy stuff and now I really am absolutely knackered. Apart from when I got back today I hadn't had a proper sleep since Friday night, as Saturday night was spent watching the Jackass film in an outdoor cinema, drinking and smoking a very small amount of marijuana until 5.00 in the morning.

Here is a list of the bands I saw. If they're emboldened it means I especially enjoyed them: Har Mar Superstar (bit shit - never mind), Athlete, Tom McRae, Mogwai, Electric Six, Idlewild, Royksopp, REM, 20-20's, Gemma Hayes, Sparta, The Polyphonic Spree, Turin Brakes, Supergrass, The Flaming Lips, The Coral, Radiohead, Sugababes, Feeder, Manic Street Preachers, The Streets.

The memories of it will surely last a lifetime.

previous | next