strawberrri.diaryland.com
Baby baby, try to find
2003-11-07 | 1:22 p.m.

I have news. Good news!

Yesterday during my walk to uni at approximately 9.15 am, I had a phone call from my dad. My first automatic reaction was: 'Shit, someone's died' because my dad has NEVER phoned me that early in the morning. Then when I answered he said he had something to tell me which 'might upset' me, which made me think even more that someone had died. And then he announced................

{drum roll}

I'm going to have a baby half-brother or sister in six months' time, shortly before my 20th birthday. And I'm all shocked and excited and happy. Why would I be upset?! Ah I hope it's a girl. In my mind I've already decided it's a girl and therefore the baby will remain a girl in my mind until further notice I already have a brother - I don't need another one. And boys smell. I think that's reason enough.

I hope the baby's ok though. At 39 my step-mum's no spring chicken, and as for my dad...well by the time the baby's MY age he'll be SEVENTY, and I'll be the same age as my step-mum!

Seriously, the shock of it all left me incapable of starting my second assignment (due Monday...ack). And was the perfect excuse to enjoy a bottle of wine.

I desperately need to do food shopping as well. I have one tin of vegetable soup, one banana, a few apples and three potatoes that have been in the cupboard since the beginning of time (ok, seven weeks, but still). So I think a visit to Spar is in order after my lecture. (I'm going to a lecture on a Friday? Bloody proud of myself am I.)

previous | next