strawberrri.diaryland.com
Hair we go again
2003-12-14 | 9:12 p.m.

Tomorrow I'm going to brave the hairdressers. This is a very big thing for me because I haven't gone to one in nearly two years. Yes, two years. Since the last time I went to one, I have been cutting my hair myself, even feathering it at the front and not doing a bad job, but I feel it's time. There may be tears and that may very shortly be followed by hat-buying. I can only hope it goes well.

Today I discovered an enormous Asda supermarket had been erected in the town centre during my absence so I went in for a nose about. I made a couple of uninteresting purchases, and 30 minutes later had the horrifying realisation that the cashier hadn't given me my card back. I imagined someone making use of what's left (not a damn lot) of my overdraft squandering it on things like chocolate gateaux and plastic cutlery. Luckily it had been handed over to customer service. I could possibly have gone ballistic at the staff only that would have been hypocritical, as I used to accidently keep customers' cards fairly frequently when I worked in Argos. Being a cashier? Tough job. Would be easier being one of them people wot invents rockets and fings.

The other news is: I have an advent calendar! I delightedly ate doors one to eight yesterday before feeling sick (these are Cadbury's Heroes - bigger than your average advent chocolate). And I'm now caught up to date, which was the most exciting thing to happen to me all day today, apart from some nondescript forced conversation I had with my next door neighbour while she was watering her plants and I was on my way out. Ooh you know what - they should produce a load of advent calendars for the Iraqis and behind day 13 have a little chocolate Saddam Hussein. Heh, that would be funny.

previous | next