strawberrri.diaryland.com
I didn't like your taste anyway
2004-03-22 | 11:37 p.m.

There was the complete absence of joy at my trip to the dentist today. Not that I expected the visit to contain any joy, it was just that I wasn't expecting the amount of fear and discomfort that I received.

He asked me how old I was now. When I told him nineteen I saw his eyes glaze over and pound signs pop up in their place. Ok that didn't happen, but since nineteen is the age you start having to pay he decided that I vitally needed to have things done (although I don't yet have a filling nor do I need one - that was his only redeeming factor).

First was a scale and polish, which involved cotton wool being positioned neatly between my gums (note: I have a minor phobia of the stuff. Makes me go all shivery and feel very funny indeed). While he scraped and polished I stared at the blobs on the ceiling and spent a while pondering where all the saliva he was sucking up from under my tongue eventually ended up. (My guess is the river Lea and, eventually, the Thames.)

Then was two sets of x-rays, which involved more cotton wool in the gob and wearing a very strange and very heavy bib, and being put in a box that spun around. The reason for the x-rays was my newly sprouting wisdom teeth. With great glee he told me his intention of removing (ie. HACKING OUT) the top ones to prevent overcrowding. I'm seeing my orthodontist on Wednesday and therefore will go to great lengths to get a second opinion (or just beg him to say that my teeth should stay where they belong - in my mouth!).

A diary entry dedicated to my experience of dentistry. You can tell I've had an eventful day.

(Actually, I went swimming tonight and earlier I did buy socks. I desperately need to rebuild my underwear collection - I'm down to my last bra. Sob.)



previous | next