strawberrri.diaryland.com
Oh my
2004-05-27 | 10:05 a.m.

This morning in the shower I had a very odd experience whereby I completely lost my sight for approximately two minutes. Which scared the shit out of me. I flailed about making whining noises then eventually I began seeing shapes again and my vision was restored. Then I went downstairs feeling very dizzy indeed and started getting a bit of the old tinnitus.

Well! Chucked the symptoms in Google and apparently I have had a stroke:

Vertebrobasilar strokes occur from [from or in?] arteries in the back of the brain and can cause combinations of change in sight in both eyes (blurred, total loss, or diplopia--double vision), dizziness, ear ringing (tinnitus), nausea and vomiting, slurred speech (dysarthria), drunken gait (ataxia), numbness around the mouth, and drop attacks (loss of postural tone in all limbs without loss of consciousness).

I don't actually know what a drunken gait is, but that's beside the point. And I have no idea if my speech was slurred because I didn't try to talk to anyone.

(I'm aware it's unlikely I DID actually have a stroke, but it would be a good excuse for getting out of tomorrow's exam.)



previous | next