strawberrri.diaryland.com
It's so much better on holiday
2004-06-15 | 4:14 p.m.

Doctors = evil. I made the dastardly mistake of going as a temporary resident to my local surgery in order to get more pills. Upon hearing what I'd come in for the doctor near enough threw a fit. She proceeded to lecture me for ten minutes on how under no circumstance other than an emergency was I to have an appointment. I listened to her barking away, even slagging off the doctor I saw six months ago who, according to her, was a locum who didn't know what the frig he was doing. I pointed out the impracticality of travelling 80 miles each way just to get a prescription but she was not amused. I now know to never go back there unless I'm half - or maybe even three-quarters - dead. I've been warned.

Anyhoo, other than that the past few days have been eventful. I went to a barbecue in a place in north-west London on Saturday hosted by Tori's on-again-off-again-nope-definitely-on-again boyfriend Pete. Unfortunately the tube line I needed to go on to get there (Metropolitan) was well and truly buggered up which meant getting a replacement bus. They should really warn people about these things. I spent over an hour on a bus with a maniac driver who went down hills at such a speed that some of my fellow passengers made shrieking noises. And he merrily drove around in circles for a good fifteen minutes. How I was pleased.

And I spent Sunday with the boyfriend watching the obligatory England-France match. Now I have always taken an interest in the World Cups and the Euro-whatevers (I even have a little England flag which cost a mere 75 pence!) but I'm not hard core and actually found it faintly amusing when England lost, only because the atmosphere of the pub altered so drastically. The people who'd previously been whooping, cheering and whistling that tune off the Carling ads were replaced by sombre faces, the shaking of heads and more swear words than I care to repeat.

I'm meant to be reading all the secondary works for my dissertation over this summer, but you know what? I kind of can't be bothered to yet.

(And in two months I still probably won't have started. Apathy - tis great!)

previous | next