strawberrri.diaryland.com
Oh-oh-ohhh
2004-06-21 | 11:29 a.m.

So, the most fun thing I've done since coming home was...going punting! It was kind of a mini uni friends reunion on Friday with Tori and Natalie driving up, collecting me then going to Simon's in Cambridge. (It also involved going into a pub with a giant one-eyed poodle, which came and rested its head on my knee. It smelt terrible but was cute all the same.)

Punting is basically being on a long wooden boat and poking the boat around a river (the Cam) with a big long pole. We weren't very good at it and had to go to great lengths to avoid squashing a flock of ducklings. I was the only one who refused to actually try punting the boat, preferring to happily stay sat down, getting covered in river water. It would only have been disastrous if I'd tried it - it involved STANDING UP on the back of the boat. Without a question of a doubt I would have fallen in and besides, my friends were making enough of a mess of it as it was, with Natalie screaming 'Argh the pole's stuck!', my helpful reply being 'No it's not, you just think it is!' Water dodgems yes, punting no.

Saturday night I went to a club which I call 'the best of a bad bunch' out of the ones in Stevenage and was consequently paying for it yesterday. No hangover just pounding-head syndrome which resulted in me staying in bed for most of the day watching DVDs.

And this week is the week of Glastonbury (YAY!). I have no idea what the weather's going to be like but my idea of bringing wellies has been scuppered, with someone pointing out that if it's muddy (which it may well be) then they will get stuck in the mud leaving a very soggy-socked Sarah to wander around the site in an attempt to find much-needed shoes. I've decided to just tie plastic bags around my trainers instead.

previous | next