strawberrri.diaryland.com
L-O-V-E-R, I'll see you later
2004-09-07 | 6:58 p.m.

Saturday night's party was good. What I was awake of it, that is. I passed out (through tiredness, might I add) at the embarrassingly early time of some time after 11.00 pm. On a chair. Using my handbag as a pillow for some reason, and COULD NOT BE WOKEN UP. I felt so ashamed.

Today's exciting adventure was a trip to the town library. Yep, finally did it because I was starting to become a bit concerned. I spent almost the whole summer believing that my dissertation research was going to materialise all on its own and it suddenly hit me that no, I will have to read many, many books and make many, many notes. All on my own. I have done SOME reading but unfortunately by 'some' I mean I'm halfway through my seventh online journal. And six and a half journals do not a 12,000 word dissertation make.

The library though. Only one word for it: crap. It only had ONE book on the Black Death (which happens to be my quite unfortunate choice of dissertation topic) so I got a few random medieval ones and thought I might as well get prepared for my other modules and got out two Orwell books...finally! (Animal Farm and Down and Out in Paris and London. Animal Farm looks beautifully short, so shouldn't take too long to read.) What else did I do? Oh yeah, I paid off a 60 pence fine that I accrued sometime in March in the year of our Lord 2002. I blatantly didn't pay it then because I thought I'd never be using that library again. How wrong I was.

There is a gigantic daddy long legs in the bathroom with five and a quarter legs. I am curious as to how it lost three-quarters of a leg but I'm resigned to the fact that, alas, I will probably never know.

(And by the way, I have six Gmail invites, if anyone would like one...)

previous | next