strawberrri.diaryland.com
Is it cause I'm cool?
2004-08-14 | 11:42 p.m.

I think I have the going-back-to-uni-blues, which is stupid as I still have nearly two weeks left and once uni starts it's Freshers' fortnight which is nothing other than a fortnight of alcoholic frolics, free pens, sweets and condoms.

Still, I haven't done nearly enough work (surprise sur-bloody-prise), although I am reading some George Orwell books. By some I mean one, although I have started a second. I read Animal Farm and I'm now on to Down and Out in Paris and London. I'm preferring Down and Out I think, and not just because there happens to be a man called Boris in it. As for my dissertation reading...well, I think I'd get more done if I was chained up in the attic and fed on a bucket of fishheads once a week. Unfortunately I don't happen to own a bucket.

Anyway...Newcastle! Was fantastic. Met some Geordies, went over the Tyne, walked into a lamp post, went out drinking and stayed in drinking and by Monday afternoon my hands were shaking from alcohol withdrawal. Worth it though. One amusing thing to happen was to walk past a woman speaking the most perculiar language I'd ever heard only to be informed she was actually speaking English. The most Geordified English I'd ever heard. Might as well have been speaking Japanese.

Not much else been happening. The general gustiness of the weather put me off going outside today, though I did go to the cinema this evening to see The Terminal, which is good, but very long and my knees ached by the end. In fact the most exciting thing to happen to me today was that I won an online fish pun competition (I am obsessed, please help me). Replace band names with fish names and for some reason my not overly humorous suggestion of JamiroKOI won. I'm not sure what the prize is yet but I wouldn't expect anything less than a can of tuna.



previous | next