strawberrri.diaryland.com
Everybody get into a big canoe
2004-10-06 | 2:03 p.m.

I am currently sitting in the computer suite in the library. Which is nice. Or it would be if I wasn't positioned directly under a HEADACHE-INDUCING FLICKERING LIGHT. Thank God NTL are coming around today to install all manner of communicative devices (ok, so broadband and a phone line, but also cable which means we'll be able to waste away our days watching repeats of Friends on E4).

I had my first lecture yesterday for my George Orwell module, only it wasn't a lecture at all but a two hour seminar. My group is small which means I will not be able to skive any classes at all (although this is probably a good thing if I plan on passing the summer exams) nor can I nap as you don't just sit there pretending to make notes a la lectures but you have to contribute to the discussion too. JOY. Still, it wasn't that terrible. The first 40 minutes were spent introducing ourselves. But then we got the course outline and the first assignment is to TEACH THE CLASS and do a write up of it. I am scared.

I also went and saw my dissertation tutor, admitted I didn't really have a clue what I'm doing and so he has done me a great favour by actually giving my dissertation some much-needed direction. So I'm not too worried about that anymore.

I am, however, worried about my phone. It refuses to charge AT ALL now and no amount of sellotape or screaming fits at it can make it change its mind. Thing is, I don't know if it's the phone that's buggered up (which I wouldn't be entirely surprised at considering it's a �30 Pay As You Go) or just the charger. I will be taking it along to Phones 4U later to see if they can fix it (unlikely).

Last night we stayed in and watched a Wes Craven film called 'The People Under The Stairs' which was...hilarious. How can a film that has a big grinning skeleton in it not be funny? That is an important question indeed.

previous | next