strawberrri.diaryland.com
When I think about you I touch Marcel
2005-01-20 | 9:40 p.m.

Had quite an odd time today whilst doing some food shopping in Spar. Queuing up for the checkout I was sandwiched in between two drunk people. Ah but people get drunk! You might think...but at 4.30 in the afternoon on a weekday (unless you're a student, naturally)? Something has to be amiss.

The little old lady mumbled incoherently. I just about caught the end of her sentence, which, quite ironically I thought, was 'And I didn't understand a word of what he said..!' Righty-o... Then I get a pleasant whiff of the man behind me's breath - unavoidable seeing how he insisted on standing mere millimetres away from me. He definitely smelt whisky-flavoured, was 40-ish and was trying to cover up his blatant alcohol-related stupor by making light conversation. With me. I think what freaked me out most was his Queen's English cut-glass accent - 'There's a hell of a queue, isn't there?'
I glance in front and see a grand total of three customers, being served quite efficiently by the two cashiers. Having already made the mistake of seeing the crazed look in his eyes, I feel it's best to just agree with him. He then asked if I was a student and when I replied in the affirmative he let out a huge 'Awwwwwww!' Man was I glad to get out of that shop.

I have a lecture in a building tomorrow that I didn't even know existed. I asked someone how to get there and they informed me it was 'right next to the Law building - you can't miss it!' Ah, if only I actually knew where the Law building was...

Went out last night for a few drinks, which inevitably led to a night out in the Student Union. Luckily Natalie was on hand to take some pre-vodka-consumption photos. Yayness.

Me: (Yes, posing. Again.)

Natalie: (I took this one. It's not my life-long dream to become a photographer, thankfully.)

Tori: (Or, to quote Natalie, 'Crazy lady'.)

Apologies for the gigantic photos. Just saw how scary they look.

previous | next