strawberrri.diaryland.com
He just smiled and gave me a vegemite sandwich
2005-05-03 | 6:31 a.m.

I'm still having accidents - yesterday I managed to saw open my finger and part of my fingernail whilst cutting a potato. Not too badly though, which is a small mercy.

Dissertation is printed off and ready to be handed in and then I plan on erasing the whole thing from my memory.

The weekend was good. Saturday night involved Retribution plus the meeting of random French men in Spoons beforehand. It's a good thing one of them had managed to grasp the English language well - a feat I never managed to do where French was concerned, despite having an AS level in it. In fact when one of them asked my age (Quel age as tu?) I almost instinctively went to say 'I am eleven,' (J'ai onze ans) as that's what I had drilled into my head in year seven at school. The only other thing I could really think of to say was 'I would like a strawberry ice cream' (Je voudrais une glace a la fraise) - not because I wanted a strawberry ice cream, just it was the only full sentence I could remember. They invited us to find them on Leicester market for a free bar of soap, as that's what they came to England to sell. I'm not sure if I'll take up the offer.

New Bloke came here Sunday - that was fun. Especially since we and my entire household went and had Sunday lunch in the pub beer garden to feed our hangovers with.

Hmm, not much else to report, except I got a rather amusing email off my brother, who's still on the other side of the world, only he's moved on from Aus to New Zealand now.

About one of his escapades he wrote this:

'...5 big men crammed into a 3 person tent. I woke up in the night and a German was using my feet as a pillow. I laughed in pity and went back to sleep.'

That made me chuckle!

previous | next