strawberrri.diaryland.com
We'll show you what we can do with a load of balls and a snooker cue
2005-05-16 | 3:39 p.m.

My fingers are covered in blue biro - always a good sign as far as revision's concerned. Because it usually means I've done a fair amount of writing, with the hope that some of the stuff I'm meant to remember is finally sinking in. It's a good thing I actually find George Orwell interesting, otherwise it'd make learning his changing political views, books, essays - basically HIS ENTIRE LIFE - doubly tedious.

I was happily settled in the pub Friday night with Tori and boyfriend and Natalie, celebrating the weekend with copious amounts of wine. And was joined by the New Bloke who, together with Tori's boyfriend filled in a form for the three of us girls to participate in the Friday night kareoke. We'd just watched some bloke (who was determined to drink a fishbowl of vodka and Red Bull in its entirety by himself) sing 'Milkshake'. Right, we can't be worse than that...surely?

Well, I was shocked we weren't laughed out of the pub. The reasons?

1) None of us are especially talented in the singing department. (Note: This is an understatement.)

2) The song we were kareoke-ing along to was one myself and Tori had NEVER HEARD OF BEFORE.

3) The song was 'Snooker Loopy'. By Chas 'n' Dave.

4) CHAS 'N' EFFING DAVE! Oh the shame.

Good laugh, though.

On Saturday the New Bloke fancied a haircut so I accompanied him to a barbers' called 'Strickly Gents'. I refrained from asking the owner if he had anything against the letter T. (Ok, so there's a T in 'Gents' but that's not the point!)

Yesterday he managed to further his perfection by cooking a roast dinner for my household. If things don't work out between us I can see myself abducting him and locking him away somewhere to use as my personal chef. Aah...

And that's all I have to report for the moment. Other than two weeks from tomorrow I'll have finished my degree. Forever. Which is both scary and, well, terrifying.



previous | next