strawberrri.diaryland.com
In the morning
2005-06-11 | 10:48 p.m.

I have a virus on this computer called 'eek!' This both amuses and saddens me.

I am indeed back at home. I've been unpacking on and off for the past 24 hours so sometime earlier today I decided to give myself a break and venture into town. This happened to involve a visit to Asda, which for some reason or another had some people on hand to offer a body-fat-percentage-calculating...something or other. Anyway, you give your details - height, weight, blah di blah - over to someone and stick your palms and thumbs on some metal deeley and somehow or other it works out exactly how much of you is pure, unadulterated FAT. Anyhoo, it turned out my BMI was a respectable 21.8 but, BUT...my body fat percentage was 32.9 per cent.

I am one-third lard.

The man who'd tested me then proceeded to instruct me to eat a home-made fruit milkshake for breakfast and lunch daily and to snack on soya beans when I got hungry. He gave me some soya beans to sample, which tasted of...absolutely nothing at all.

So I suggest, if you do not wish to have your self-esteem bashed and, like me, are not the skinniest reed in a clarinet, do not have your body fat measured.

I could try to blame this whole saga on the fact that since the 24th of May I've been drinking roughly six days out of seven and more often or not paying a visit to Maryland Chicken afterwards. But I won't.

I'm going to stay with the New Bloke tomorrow - yay! And I'm glad to say that he met me when I looked like this and doesn't appear to care that my body fat quota is in the 'high' percentile.

previous | next