strawberrri.diaryland.com
I can't get a life if my heart's not in it
2005-08-22 | 10:14 p.m.

A fucking mosquito just landed in my drink and didn't even have the decency to drown! I tried to rescue it with a cotton bud but it flinched, swam about, then miraculously leapt out and flew away. I no longer felt able to have my drink.

Need I even bother say where I spent the weekend? Yep, with the New Bloke. He is, without a doubt, my kindred spirit (or whatever bollocks they call someone you're pretty damn into these days). We went to his sister's in Reading for her flat-warming on Saturday, along with his other sister and their various friends and boyfriends. At one point a crazy moth flew into a bulb, became stunned, and then fell into a tub of hoisin sauce from the gigantic Chinese takeaway we ordered (among numerous items we had ONE AND A HALF DUCKS). I commented how it'd experienced a sticky end and immediately launched into my favourite Blackadder quote (to the best of my knowledge...'This is the stickiest situation since Sticky the stick insect got stuck on a sticky bun.') at which my boyfriend began pissing himself laughing while nearly everyone else just appeared bemused.

To break tradition, I'm having a uni reunion this weekend, which involves Tori driving Natalie and myself up to Leicester to visit our favourite pub (the Old Horse) and our favourite club (Retribution) and generally have a jolly good old time. I know it won't be the same as when we actually lived there but I'm hoping it'll be good, as I haven't seen Tori properly since we left uni. Luckily my friend Chris from my George Orwell course still lives there so we'll have somewhere to kip once we've filled ourselves with grog and reminisced about the good old times (hopefully avoiding the story of me throwing up out of my window in the first year).

I'm off to Cambridge tomorrow too, to stay with Rachel 'til Friday.

I'd say I'm as busy as a bee only the insects I've come in contact with lately haven't exactly had the best fate possible, so I think I'll avoid that!


previous | next