strawberrri.diaryland.com
Let it go
2005-08-31 | 11:13 p.m.

Ok, this is an odd one. I went to London Zoo today with my ex boyfriend (after making sure my now boyfriend was ok with it - I can't stand keeping secrets, only because I'm rubbish at keeping them). It was...strange, but not in a bad way. It was also a very amusing trip, and in an outside monkey arena we witnessed some woman tell her son 'If you shout at that monkey it will come and bite you,' and then, despite the poor boy having ceased to make a racket, one of the squirrel monkeys scampered away and she said, 'Look what you've done, YOUR SHOUTING HAS SCARED IT AWAY!'

The ex also happens to be a super wind-up merchant to anyone who comes within five feet of him and, in the aquarium section, the following conversation happened.

Small child, pointing at tank: Yay, look there's Dory. There's Dory! Oh YAY LOOK TWO DORIES WHERE'S NEMO!!!?

The Ex: Nemo's DEAD.

To prevent the small child from bursting into tears, as he seemed wont to do, I told him Nemo was not dead, just sleeping. There was a black and white clownfish in another tank anyway, which I found almost as adorable as the otters, lemurs and pelicans.

The only thing I didn't like seeing was a beetle eating a grasshopper with its head bitten off, only the grasshopper was twitching as if it had ADHD. Did I mention IT HAD NO HEAD BUT AT ALL?!

Zoos are great and I'm glad I saw the ex today as it made me realise a number of things:

1) I'm not bothered by the thought of him being with someone else.

2) I care about him, but not in a romantic way.

3) I love the New Bloke rather quite a lot.

And blah-di-blah-di-blah back home I am after dinner on Camden Lock and a brief meeting with the New Bloke, getting caught in the rain and watching Lost (why are people so obsessed with this programme? It's watchable but I'm only really using it as a replacement for Desperate Housewives).

Ooh and I have a job interview next week, and even better, if I do land the job then it will start when I come back from holiday, which would be perfect with a capital per and fect.



previous | next