strawberrri.diaryland.com
It was an amusing episode...of our lives
2005-09-29 | 5:51 p.m.

Ah, back in England in all of its grey-skied glory. Or to be more precise I've been back since Tuesday evening (after a delightful turbulenty landing, which made me hate flying more than ever) but I had to be parted from the New Bloke this morning as he was reluctantly returning to work.

Cyprus was wonderful and I'd fully recommend it to anyone as a holiday resort.

But! Nothing is ever entirely perfect so I present to you a list of Holiday Mishaps.

Mishap #1: Take heed Kate Moss as snorting anything while on a plane at a very high altitude is not a good idea at all (though it was a nasal spray rather than cocaine that was the culprit). Upon the plane's descent into Cyprus, I had an immensely painful pressure-headache type thing, which was so bad I started weeping. My composition caused a woman in the next aisle to get rather stressed out, think there was something wrong with the plane, etc. Thinking about it now, it is faintly amusing...or is it? No it's not.

Mishap #2: Beware the Mediterranean sea. Glorious and blue as it is this time of year, some of the waves can be particularly powerful. I discovered this while trying to wade into the ocean and having a huge wave crash over my head which batted me back to shore. This resulted in my arse being cut open by a sharp pebble and my bikini bottoms being wedged in a certain part of my body I'd have rathered they hadn't been. How pleasant.

Mishap #3: On the day we flew back (Tuesday) I developed a virulent strain of my least favourite infection - cystitis. There were no chemists at the airport so I did the only sensible thing of sedating the agony of my screaming bladder with alcohol, which worked but is certainly not a long-term solution.

Other than that it was just a very enjoyable week of the typical holiday stuff like going to the beach, swimming in the sea and the pool, seeing an abundance of lizards and goats, eating out and drinking. Though on Monday we went on safari, which was my favourite day as we got to see so much of the island, go up high mountains and to unspoiled beach areas, see ancient architecture as well as wash our faces in the Baths of Aphrodite and then bathe in the crystal clear sea. Poifect.

In non-holiday-related news, before I went away the woman I had a job interview with said she'd call me the Wednesday I came back (yesterday) with a high possibility of offering me a job. Therefore yesterday I expected my phone to ring at some point during the day and be told my fate. But...nothing. I was hugely disappointed and thought they didn't want me after all, but I rang her up today, just to make sure.

Well! The reason I wasn't contacted yesterday was because there had been no available positions at her disposal until this morning. There were two positions and three people on her list, including me. I told her it was a sign that I was meant to be offered a job and as it happens I've been given the best-paid position of the two. I don't know if this is because I phoned at the right time or because I actually did ok on the aptitude test but I don't suppose it really matters now. I start on the tenth.

So life is pretty rosy right now and if going on holiday has taught me anything, it's that I have far more freckles on my body than I ever imagined.

Heh.

previous | next