strawberrri.diaryland.com
Oh baby when I hold you tight
2005-12-05 | 7:17 p.m.

Shall I do my traditional Monday evening commentary of how I'm knackered? Think I'll skip it this week, despite it being true.

Belfast and the small town we were actually staying in were lovely. So green and much prettier than England (or my part of it). Of course staying one day meant we didn't really get to appreciate it fully and everything was very hectic. But that's the way it goes, AND I was well-behaved on the flights, though I'm not sure the bones in my boyfriends hand function fully anymore after my crushing them on take off and landing.

While we weren't affected by The Funeral, we did have to watch some of it on tv, mainly because the boyfriend's mum knew George Best when she was younger and used to go drinking with him. Therefore if anyone was of the opinion that he deserved to die they kept their mouths shut.

And now we get on to the mishaps of the weekend!

1) I can get a bit nervy if I'm around a lot of people I don't know, especially my half Irish boyfriend's Irish family. His uncle picked us up from the airport and upon greeting him I accidently KISSED HIS NECK. Oh God... I mean, a handshake would have sufficed, or a hug, but no. To be fair I was aiming for his cheek (I have no idea why as I never normally kiss strangers anyway and feel uncomfortable hugging people I don't know). The neck-kissing was not mentioned over the course of the weekend and never shall be again.

2) Due to having got up at 4.30 Saturday morning, I became pretty knackered at the wedding reception (a cousin's, it turned out) and me and the New Bloke ended up getting a lift home from the uncle's neighbours a bit after midnight. It was quite a long journey - about 20 minutes and on getting back we realised we'd been given the wrong key and were locked out. Not fun on a cold December eve, trust me. Anyhoo, while waiting for the others to return (which took more than an hour), I'd been sitting on the porch leaning on my boy. Unfortunately at one point his phone rang and he stood up sharply, which meant I was now leaning on thin air. Of course I fell over (quite impressive considering I was sitting down) and bashed my head on a concrete plant pot of all things. I grew a bump, which the boyfriend's mum insisted putting an ice pack on when they arrived home. Yay...

But overall it was certainly a good trip and I'd love to go back. I think I'd even brave flying again - hour long flights are a thing of beauty.

Work went really quickly today, which was nice, but sadly I've realised that as a temp job it's really quite unfulfilling with zero job satisfaction. And I always felt that by the end of university that I'd have had enough of education and, true, I don't miss the essays, but I do miss the sense of achievement I'd have whenever I got a good mark back, and how it'd spur me on to continue to do well. I do miss that.

previous | next