strawberrri.diaryland.com
Here we are
2006-01-02 | 7:57 p.m.

So my New Year's Eve ended up being a bit mad. Had a lovely time during the day, going for pizza (which has been my favourite of all foods for quite some time now) in a nice place in Covent Garden and then getting a boat back to Canary Wharf before getting ready to go out.

It was only fairly late on that things got mad. We went to the house party, which was good, even though every time I made my drink (vodka red bull) someone would announce there wasn't enough vodka in it and then top it up with an amount fit to anaesthetise a hippopotamus. Anyhoo, in the end the Tube strike affected us more than we thought it would. There were six of us leaving the house party to meet up with others at the club and ended up in two taxis. In ours, me the New Bloke and his friend, who after several minutes' worth of journey, jumped out and bolted. To this day I don't know why, though it may have something to do with his thimble-sized bladder. To cut to the chase, we never found him (but he didn't die or anything, so that's cool), ended up walking around for ages, arguing, quite badly, having to get a second taxi and then ending up in the venue at ten to twelve by which time we were both upset and fed up.

It did get better though and once we were reunited with friends I danced a lot and enjoyed myself. And I had a hilarious moment when I went off to go to the toilet and somehow came out of a different door to the one I went in, upon which I realised that I was in a hotel and there were six floors packed with people to choose from. Oh good. Seriously, it was like some Narnia-esque scenario with me completely unable to take in what was happening. I sent my boy a hugely helpful text message saying 'I'm in some hotel,' and after wishing I had a compass and megaphone eventually - after about half an hour - managed to navigate my way back. I realise now it might have been sensible to have enquired about the place we were going, and the fairly important fact that it was a hotel.

There are a few things which stand out about the year just gone. I passed my degree. I fell, and have remained, in love with someone. I was travelling in central London when the bombings happened (not my favouritest memory, but it certainly made me realise how precious life is). I started my first full time job and discovered that the transition from student to member of the working public, while not being entirely pleasant, is certainly not as bad as some people had forewarned. More happened than I can believe, considering how fast the year has gone. And the fact that I can remember 1996 like it was yesterday doesn't help either!

And I would say that I feel smug because I don't have to worry about January exams, but in reality I'd happily revise for and sit exams if it meant I could be a student again.



previous | next