strawberrri.diaryland.com
Another winter day has come and gone away
2006-01-05 | 8:17 p.m.

Hooray, it's nearly the weekend and I'm leaving work early tomorrow! My line manager is truly laid back and when I asked if it was possible for me to leave early on Friday he gave me his blessing, even when I informed him that by early I meant quarter to two in the afternoon.

The reason for this is as usual I'm going to London, this time for a pub crawl send off for one of the New Bloke's good friends (incidently my favourite of his friends) who's leaving next week to work in Azerbaijan for a year. It's somewhere near Russia. Subsequently his lovely girlfriend, who's become a good friend to me, is understandably not over the moon about this. So there will be drinking and there will be curry. Fuck this New Year New Diet crap - I'm still wading through my Christmas chocolate with great vigour. I'm no fool, and besides, if those sodding diets actually worked then they would be a one-off resolution and then forgotten about rather than something people do on a yearly basis. And besides, I'm not fat...yet.

Sadly I will miss my brother who's coming back from Stoke to spend the weekend here, the main reason being that for the next couple of weeks he's living in a B&B as his house isn't ready to be moved into yet. I have his Broadband installed on my laptop, he just needs to work out how to move it all into my room. I'll be glad when it's done as it'll mean not only will I be able to get rid of AOL dialup but it'll also be the end for my poor old ancient PC, riddled with every virus under the sun, and more slow-moving than a dog with no legs. It also runs so many programmes against my will that I end up Ctrl Alt and Deleting any programme I don't like the sound of. Wkcalrem, Mailskinner, Stimon, Rundll32, Ubhvawkold, I'm looking at YOU.



previous | next