strawberrri.diaryland.com
ARR...
2006-06-16 | 5:58 p.m.

I've just spent about the last hour blow-drying all my washing with my hairdryer. My organisation skills are clearly superb.

But who cares because I'm GOING BOATIN'. We're technically going tomorrow but have to venture up to the boyfriend's family home in Suffolk this evening. I should have planned better and bought a tri-cornered hat so once we were on our merry way I could say things like 'Arr!' and 'Savvy' and commandeer the barge (there are four men going on this holiday so I highly doubt they'll willingly leave the driving of the boat to little old me).

I'm taking a camera. No wait, I lie. I'm taking two cameras.

Bierfest was bloody great by the way. It was in a big marquee in Hannover Square if anyone knows it (just off Oxford St) and all the waiters and waitresses were dressed up in German folk-dancing attire and spent the night dishing out champagne, beer and various edible items.

I did get quite plastered on the free booze but had to stick to champagne (whereas I always think lager goes best with football) because the beer only came in two-pint glasses which were so heavy I'd have to hold it with both my hands and even then I'd start to feel like I was in some kind of Mr Universe endurance test, with the beer getting heavier every second.

Right, that's me done here for the day. Now I just need Geoffrey Rush to break into my cabin in the middle of the night at some point declaring 'You best start believin' in ghost stories. You're in one!'

That would make my day.

previous | next