strawberrri.diaryland.com
I'm no superman
2006-07-04 | 9:03 p.m.

So, England and the World Cup. Yes, it's old news by now and the result was, if anything, predictable, but ooh I need to rant! You see, I watched the match in a bar in Canary Wharf with the boyfriend and chums and in there happened to be a very LOUD and very OBNOXIOUS American woman who wanted the world and its dog to know she was rooting for Portugal. She even had the audacity to berate anyone who cheered when we were doing well, generally with a 'What the fuck are y'all cheering fo'?' She just didn't stop and I must say I was surprised that after the game no one re-enacted one of the successful penalty shots using her gob as the net and their fist as the ball.

I hate the xenophobia the World Cup has brought. Today a man at work had a contemplative moment which he decided to share with me: 'You know how it's not ok to hate people for being black, well is it ok to hate people for being German?' When I replied firmly in the negative he responded with 'Oh God you're not half German are you?' I truly, truly despair.

It's been a funny old time lately. Other than the match on Saturday I spent most of the weekend participating in a Scrubs marathon with the boyfriend. One of the best programmes in existence I say. I'm also feeling a bit bereaved as the person I was closest to at work left on Friday, to embark on a round the world trip. I felt gutted and now when I'm at work all I can think of is that he's not there. We used to have really indepth conversations about things such as daddy long legs, and whether or not they are poisonous - an argument which I won with a statement along the lines of 'If you ground one up with a pestle and mortar, and rubbed it into a flesh wound, I doubt you would die.'

So, holiday pics. Rather belated - doesn't really feel like I ever went away so I'll just tuck them onto the end of this entry and leave it at that. (Cursor over them for a description.)

I'm driving a boat for the very first time, ah-hmm, ah-hmm

Some ducks decide to pay us a visit

The Gang, minus the boyfriend's dad who took this one

The boyfriend's dad holding a fish, and one of his sisters

The cockerel from the pub garden at Horsey Mere. We named him Claude

A close up of Claude

The boyfriend plus goats

Me and a blob by my head, which is a peacock

Donkey!

Windmill!

In a pub garden. That's not our boat

My boy, fishing

previous | next