strawberrri.diaryland.com
Oh mine Papa
2006-10-28 | 4:00 p.m.

Today at approximately 3.24 pm I made my bed and that's the most productive thing I have done all day.

I'm having a nice, quiet day today (complete with pyjamas) and this evening I have the house to myself so I'm going to watch X Factor and cook some homemade fish and chips (and by that I mean get it out the freezer, I'm not going to catch and batter my own fish).

I went out last night with work friends and it seemed the world and its dog was in the Old Town Wetherspoon's, which was nice. It was Katie's brother's birthday too, so he was out with a big group of friends. One such chum was a uni friend of his, who we shall call Dave as that is his name, and with whom I had a brief dalliance with during the Christmas holidays two years ago and have not seen since.

(This story does have a point, I think.)

Anyway, we all happened to end up in the same club and Dave came over to talk to me and said 'You are thinner than when I met you.'

Now, I don't know if it is me but I do not like people making comments about my weight and if someone says I am 'thinner' I usually take it to mean they thought I was previously a hippopotamus of some sort. I think I tutted and walked off in disgust.

I happened to be a student when I met him, where living the traditional lifestyle of going out drinking five nights a week and ending up at the chip shop did not a healthy lifestyle make.

Plus I think I offended him as I accidently made it very clear that I thought he had THE most peculiar accent I HAVE EVER HEARD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. When he spoke to me my mind was baffled trying to work out where the hell he was from and I ended up participating in the following sincere conversation:

Me: 'Are you from...Germany?'

Him: 'No, Croydon.'

Me: 'Yes, but where did you grow up? South Africa?'

Him: 'No...Croydon.'

Me: 'Are you sure?'

You really have to hear it to believe it.

Edit 4.33 pm.

Something more interesting just happened to me! Someone on a withheld number just rang my phone and sang along to the Land Down Under song playing in the background in what sounded like a noisy bar. And then they hung up. I have a feeling it may have been someone in Australia...



previous | next