strawberrri.diaryland.com
What would you do?
2006-11-06 | 7:33 p.m.

I haven't changed my contact lenses for about two months. Oops. No wonder my eyes feel diseased.

I've been quite a happy soul lately though, especially on Saturday when I met up with five of my uni friends in London - one of whom I hadn't seen since last June - and we started off in some lovely pub that played mellow tunes, and I drank pints of blackcurrant and lemonade (!) and felt how I had not enjoyed myself that much in ages.

We also went and watched the fireworks at Alexandra Palace, which were pretty spectacular and I oohed and ahhed as was customary. And then we went on to a couple of bars to complete Saturday night.

I think everyone must have suffered at the hands of an unknowledgable barman/maid at some time or another, but my friend Rich's experience nearly made me choke my own drink through my nose in hilarity when the following scenario ensued:

Rich: Pint of bitter please.

Barmaid: Bitter?

Rich: Yes, bitter.

Barmaid: Bitter lemon???

Rich: No, sorry. Bitter, as in ale.

Barmaid: Ah, Magners!


Yes.


Speaking of drinks, I went to get the teas and coffees in at work a few days ago and ended up trapped in the lift. And it totally wasn't the lift's fault at all - it was my own stupidity.

See, the drinks machines on my floor had both packed up so I merrily went to the floor above and filled a tray with ten or so drinks for my beloved colleagues. On my way back I managed to poke the lift button with my little fingernail, however the buttons inside the lift seemed to be a bit more sturdy and the way I was holding the tray of drinks meant I could not press them. And then the doors shut so I was trapped inside. I thought of putting the drinks on the floor but had visions of the motion of the lift upsetting them all and i would drown/boil to death as a result of ten very hot drinks going all over me. Luckily I eventually managed to manoeuvre my thumb around so I could push the level 1 button. That was a scary time.

Talking of scary times, there was a powercut in my neighbourhood this evening, which meant I arrived home to pitch blackness. And man, I nostalgically realised how fun electricity is. I sat in the kitchen feeling cold and sad, toasting a bit of bread over a candle and only succeeded in singeing it. I gave up hope and went out for a drive and to fill up with petrol and came home and read yesterday's newspaper by candlelight and after a bit the power came back.

Meh, I'm so tired. I'm going to bed soon.




previous | next