strawberrri.diaryland.com
Suddenly I see
2007-01-18 | 4:41 p.m.

I just wanted to write this while it's fresh in my mind.

Ladies and gentleman, after nearly five months I have finally had a taste of this so-called romance again!

I don't really expect anyone to remember, but I used to work with a guy called Tim, who left at the end of the June to go backpacking around the
world. He returned home just before Christmas.

During the time we worked together I was fortunate enough to become close
friends with Tim, even though I was too shy to talk to him at first for THREE MONTHS (he is intimidatingly gorgeous) and it was only once he was moved on to my team last January that we began speaking. Of course I fancied the arse off him and he seemed to take rather a liking to me, much to my surprise. But the small matter of both of us being in relationships put paid to anything happening, even though there was a spark between us. There were also rumours about us too, I later found out.

I think that was one of the periods I really enjoyed work, as I spent half my day chatting to Tim and the other half sending memos back and forth to him. When he eventually left I felt incredibly sad and expected our friendship to slide, as he planned to be gone for as long as a year. As it happens we ended up emailing quite frequently so when he said he was coming back and would I like to meet up I was delighted.

Which brings us up to yesterday.

With the fact that both of us were single it was on my mind that something may happen with him...which it did. And after he kissed me he said to me 'I have wanted to do that for a year,' which made me feel elated. And I did bring him home with me, even though most of the night we spent talking, finally falling asleep at half seven. (I am lucky to have a very liberal mother who, just now asked if I had a good night last night - and not in a smirky kind of way either! - when I blatantly had a boy stashed in my room and in my bed.) It was so nice to be held again...

We woke up a couple of hours later and just lay in bed talking and watching tv while he continued to hold me and kiss me, which was lovely. (So lovely that it was half eleven before I strolled into work - there's commitment to the job for you.) Sadly I definitely resemble someone who's only had two hours' sleep, but it was quite worth it.

And here's the part that throws a spanner in the works - on Monday he flies to Argentina to begin his second stint of trip round the worldness, for four months! Oh well. I am glad that last night happened, though I hope it hasn't put a nail in the coffin of our friendship. And apart from that it has clarified to me that I am well on my way to being over the ex, something that even recently I wasn't sure of. But now I know. And I'm glad.

previous | next