strawberrri.diaryland.com
B-I-N-G-O
2007-02-05 | 7:20 p.m.

In one week's time I'll have finished my very first day of being a trainee court reporter. I still feel rather relaxed about it all, but that's probably because I have a lot on this week. By this I mean I took today and tomorrow off work in order to organise everything, but ended up watching Jeremy Kyle and This Morning before going to town and buying some closed-cup mushrooms and an onion amongst other things. I should really sit down and read the lengthy employee manual they sent me in December at some point...

I did TRY to be productive though. I went to the train station to ask about the best way to pay for my daily commute to London and the answer is by getting a yearly season ticket as you get nearly a quarter of the price off. Delighted by this I enquired about paying this in instalments only to be rebuffed with a gruff reply of 'No, it is three thousand five hundred [and something] pounds and you need to pay it upfront.' Well, this certainly will not be happening so it looks like I'll be getting my tickets on a weekly basis.

Ooh and I registered for Glastonbury today using the most horrendous photo of myself ever, as they wanted an unsmiling, mouth-closed, plain-background mabob, which meant I had to take a picture of a photobooth photo with my webcam as none of the photos on my computer were appropriate, even though I REALLY wanted to use the picture of me wearing an eyepatch taken in my room in the house I lived in during my last year of uni:


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Whether I'll be allowed by my employer to go to the festival remains to be seen, but I've gone to the past three Glastonburys and will move heaven and earth to go to this one so it WILL happen.

At the weekend I went to Devon with my dad and brother to see my grandad for his 80th birthday and other various family members. It was lovely as we got to go to the beach (where people were surfing. In February!) as well as go out to dinner so had a pleasant time on all accounts.

On the five or so hour journey down there we stopped at some random pub for some food and I was most amused to see they sold a drink called Otter Bitter so of course I had to have a pint, which came in a pint glass with an otter on it! I was plotting to ahem, 'liberate' said pint glass but my dad just bought one off the barman in the end.

Which is demonstrated here filled with a delicious orange-flavoured squash:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

On the way back we played our own version of pictionary on our DSs and full points go to my brother for most obscure picture. He drew a scrawly blob. Which apparently was meant to be Alex Mack when she was a puddle. Because I should have just SO got that.




previous | next