strawberrri.diaryland.com
I love your delicate way
2007-02-11 | 7:04 p.m.

I know I often don't write entries for a while because I don't feel inclined to, but in this instance I literally haven't had the time...though saying that I have managed to get through six episodes of Lost over this weekend, but that's my re-discovered addiction so I can't help it.

So on Friday I finished my old job, having calculated that I'd been an admin monkey there for a year and four months. Even though the job was never one I wanted to stay in, I still left amidst a huge feeling of sadness over leaving some wonderful people behind. I was trying not to blub as I sniffled goodbye to everyone and also told my boss it'd been a privilege, as he was so great (read: lenient as fuck) so it'll be strange not going in there tomorrow.

I had a nice couple of last days though, building a snowman on my lunchbreak on Thursday and on Friday I strolled in at 10.00, had a two-hour lunch and departed at 3.45. Then I went out for many a drink in the evening with some of my former workmates to celebrate my escape.

In some fifteen and a half hours I will commence being a London worker-type-person, even though I'll be in training, so maybe it'll be more like being at school or uni than an actual job. There's eight of us new trainees so at least I won't be alone. And I liked all the other interviewees I met on my assessment day so there's no reason to not feel optimistic about it all. (Am secretly rather scared though, possibly most about the carpark I'm using in Stevenage town centre, as the stairwell smells of a horrid chips/urine hybrid.)

I wonder how I'll be feeling this time tomorrow?

previous | next