strawberrri.diaryland.com
Ba da ba da ba da ba
2007-03-21 | 8:03 p.m.

It's nice when you get to a point in your life when you have so few worries that you start caring about unbelievably un-worrisome things and have thoughts like:

What if my umbrella breaks while it's raining sheets of ice tomorrow?

and

What if the banana I eat at lunch leaves a floury residue all over my teeth like the one the other day did?

and

What if my eyes are too close together? Oh God I hope they're not - people might start mistaking me for Nicholas Lyndhurst.

Yes.

That's not to say my life is one paradisical, joyous continuum and there are things I probably should be worried about (like my dad ex-communicating me...three weeks ago he offered to take me out for an Indian and has now changed his home phone number and is ignoring the messages I leave on his mobile...THANKS DAD) but I'm just not in a 'fretting about the big things' mood.

I am still enjoying work perhaps too much, even though we have decided that a Final Destination-esque force is slowly culling our group one by one. We started off as seven trainees and we're down to five at the moment. One has left permanently, though another should be back in a week as she's off with RSI/carpal tunnel syndrome and has tendons poking out of her arm in a way tendons are not meant to do.

Another of our group nearly lost her thumb to a kite cord on Sunday and I had a hairy moment with the ironing board at the weekend and nearly decapitated a finger or several. I've already carved a bit of my fingernail off of the main finger on my left hand and seriously, a stenographer's hands are so, so precious. I am going to have to look at getting mine insured once/if I qualify at the end of the summer. My motto is 'No thumbs, no funds.'

I can't comment on how things are going with Mr Hot Italian Looking Man as I haven't been out with him yet (but still feeling rather excited about it).My social life has been reasonably entertaining however, such as on Friday when I went out for Natalie's birthday in London and randomly met a Scottish man in one of the bars we went to who looked EXACTLY like the Janitor from Scrubs, which amused me no end. It was like someone had turned Janitor into Groundskeeper Willy in a bizarre parallel universe.

According to Tori, who stayed over mine that night, we made a complete tip of the first class train carriage on the way back - I admit gravity was not having the kindest effect on my Burger King. And then there was the multitude of edible and drinkable items we'd bought from M&S Food (as we lamented the next day we REALLY *sarcasm* needed the bottle of Bucks Fizz and one of rose wine, luckily most of which remained undrunken).

Forget uni, these are the days of my life!


previous | next