strawberrri.diaryland.com
Our toes in the sand
2007-03-27 | 8:45 p.m.

I love days like today - warmish and sunny, but cool enough to make a cardigan a requirement at times. I'm glad it wasn't too hot because the Tube was crammed full of folk this morning, and there is nothing worse than being in a carriage on a hot summer's day, so full that the only possible place for you to squeeze yourself is under some man's armpit, who smells like he hasn't deodorised since the last millennium, while you curse the existence of every other person in the world whilst trying not to pass out.

I have an appraisal at work tomorrow which is quite scary. It is my seventh week there and after this one we have been generously given a mandatory two-week Easter holiday. Not complaining about that. Will have to do shitloads of stenography practice, but still, no complaints here.

We also had our monthly newsletter the other day. Now, as it was the first one I had read since joining I expected it to full of positive, happy tales about legal whatnot. What it actually contained was an article about how a court reporter in Florida had been PUT IN PRISON because she hadn't finished editing her transcript of the court proceedings on time.

I think (hope) she was released once she'd finished this specific job. Florida, however, is now crossed off the list of places I would like to work.

previous | next