strawberrri.diaryland.com
Every time you close your eyes
2007-04-09 | 1:10 p.m.

The Date: The Aftermath

It was...a success. Mostly...I think! Hallelujah and all that, don't know what I was so worried about really, even though I did spend some of the day feeling anxious as predicted and didn't really enjoy the morning that much, even though the afternoon and evening were lovely.

We got the train down to London and headed to Portobello Road market, which to me was a completely over-hyped letdown full of utter tat and I had several 'God, I wish I was anywhere else,' moments. The fact that I wasn't having the most amazing time, however, meant I stopped caring about making a good impression and was able to be myself entirely and talk to him about whatever bollocks I felt so inclined to. Which I put into practice later on by informing him my ideal Easter egg 'would be made entirely of salt and vinegar crisps,' (eh?!) and berating him for having a Mac 'because you CAN'T RIGHT-CLICK!'

Anyway, after a time we left and headed over to Richmond, where I have never been before and it really is quite splendid. We sat outside somewhere and had lunch and I finally started feeling a lot more relaxed and we spent some time having a few drinks and basking in the sun. All of a sudden several hours had gone by and we decided to head back to his and he made dinner for me and then I finally got a taxi home around midnight feeling quite happy.

But things aren't ever black and white are they? And as much as I worry about whether someone will like me, I always fail to take into consideration whether or not I will like THEM! And I think I like him, but I am not entirely sure. Now this is exactly what happened when I started seeing the New Bloke - after our first date I did not think he was anything special, but my opinion soon changed. So I think the moral is 'don't judge a book by its first chapter,' which is why I will see him again.

I don't think there's any question that he liked me (haha, I sound like a right egotist) as I woke up today and had a text from him inviting me over to dinner tonight, which for me is just a bit too keen. Indeed I felt quite thankful that I already have plans to go out with Katie, so Date No. 2 has been pushed back to the weekend.

And now my big dilemma of the afternoon is should I stay in and do some stenography or go outside in the sunshine? There's no contest. My tutor is going to KILL me when I go back to work next week.

previous | next