strawberrri.diaryland.com
The stranger it feels, yeah
2007-04-23 | 7:33 p.m.

Ugh, it has not been a good day. I have had twingy pains in my right arm for six days now and am pretty much certain it is the onset of RSI. Which is what caused one of the girls from my group of trainees to leave. Forever.

Some websites have been useful, such as suggesting arm yoga type exercises, though these are preventative rather than a cure. Other sites say that the only thing you can do is stop doing whatever it is that's causing it, which in my case is typing on a stenograph every day. I am rather worried about this.

This is especially annoying as we have just finished learning all the stenograph shorthand theory. I was half expecting a little banner to pop up out of the last page of the manual, saying 'Congratulations!' which sadly didn't happen. But our tutor did say 'Well done, you can now write any word in the English language,' so there was some sense of achievement. We're now moving onto advanced theory, upping our typing speed weekly (starting at 50 wpm this week, though we do most dictation at 70) and going to court on sporadic occasions to do tape-logging of cases. So I'm praying my arm magically heals because I really don't want to miss any of this. MEH.

I have been seeing Damian a fair bit lately and though I enjoy spending time with him I don't seem to be having any 'WOW!' type feelings, which concerns me slightly! Of course I could be just emotionally retarded. It's strange...I feel comfortable around him and get on with him well (and he paid me the best compliment ever, which was 'You are a really funny girl,' - I'm always delighted when I'm able to amuse people) but...I don't know. I'm not as into him as I think I should be.

So what do I do? I mean, I could sever ties by saying crocodiles bit off my face, or I could see how things progress as we haven't even been seeing each other a month yet! I'm just scared of getting into something that isn't easy to get out of, if that makes any sense. Probably not. Any thoughts or advice would be welcomed hugely.

previous | next