strawberrri.diaryland.com
I'm a big fan of yours Will Mellor, Mellor, Mellor
2007-06-27 | 8:14 p.m.

I just spoke to Ely guy on the phone for nearly an hour. I'm seeing him on Friday. I feel quite giddy with excitement about this. Eeeee.

What else has been going on in my life? Oh yes - a little thing called GLASTONBURY.

I'm going to have to do a photo entry when all my photos come back at the weekend but I'll try to do it some literary justice.

It was muddy. It was rainy. It was also quite probably my most favourite Glastonbury of the four I've gone to and one of the best weekends of my life. I barely had use for my torch as I wasn't getting back to my tent until after 5.00 am each night, only to sleep for a few hours and to do it all over again.

The sun did show its face at various intervals and the most perfect sunset happened while Arcade Fire played. They are now officially my most favourite band and I strongly recommend their album Funeral to please your ears immensely. They were incredible. The Killers also did it for me (it's definitely something about being in the moshpit area with thousands of other enthusiastic people). Lily Allen far exceeded my expectations.

I saw a secret-ish Fatboy Slim gig in Lost Vagueness.

I saw a comedian in the Cabaret who made me physically double up with tears of laughter streaming down my face, who went by the name of Andy Parsons. He was followed by the brilliant Bill Bailey who replaced the Killers' lyric 'I've got soul but I'm not a soldier,' with 'I've got ham but I'm not a hamster.'

At one point as I was wandering round the festival a man on a penny farthing cycled past me as if it was the most natural thing in the world.

There was a maze which had actors employed in its depths to help assist/scare/confuse/spank you. I got a 'little jammy roll' off one of them. A hedge that was part of the maze spoke to me and then I realised there was a person inside it. It's things like this that prove narcotics are definitely not a necessity at this festival.

Two other major things happened during my Glastonbury experience.

1) Wednesday night at 11.30 pm (ie. the night before I was going) I received a message off Natalie saying her boyfriend (our driver) was in hospital on a drip with severe tonsilitis, was being kept in overnight and they would be delayed in coming down until Friday.

Fuck.

This left me two options - to get a train down which would cost me �58 or to drive there. ALONE, as the rest of our party were either already down there or coming from other reaches of the country. The latter posed a problem to me in that I had never done a drive not even nearly half that long and especially not on my own! But it felt like the only option. I planned my route, set my alarm for 3.30 am and was on the road by 4.30.

I made it to Somerset with no problems whatsoever and the only minor glitch was getting lost around Frome several times (and this was only because I assumed there would be signs to the festival from there and there wasn't). I arrived at 9.00 am delighted and relieved.

However, this also meant I had to drive back, a feat which took 6 and a half hours due to having my brother as chief navigator, who was 'too tired' to look at the map so we went on an hour-long detour towards Devon at 6.30 am Monday morning. Nice one.


Anyway...

2) I bumped into my ex within hours of arriving at Glastonbury. 180,000 fuckers at the festival and I walk into HIM! He was actually camped a minute's walk away from us which was most peculiar as when I went with him in 2005 we couldn't have been further away from this year's spot.

The ex I am talking about is the one who finished with me at the end of last summer, the one who completely shattered my heart and whom I had not seen and not spoken to bar literally a small handful of text messages since last September.

And how did I feel when I saw him?

Well, not too fussed really! We even agreed to meet later on that evening for a drink and it actually was pleasant to see and catch up with him and find out how all his friends and family were.

Unfortunately he also happened to be UNBELIEVEBLY drunk and kept trying to grope and kiss me!! I was slightly flattered and a bit smug, because this means he doesn't have a girlfriend (he is so not one to cheat) but I do recall the words 'I DON'T THINK SO,' exiting my mouth and my hands batting his away from my chest.

He apologised the next day and I told him not to worry about it as I knew it was the drink.

A little secret though...

I probably would have given in to the ex's advances (I mean, it was only a couple of months ago I was telling my friends I still wasn't over him) if it hadn't been for one thing.

And that is, quite simply, Ely guy.

(Though we do have to ignore the fact I had some cute random New Zealand dude kip with me in my tent Friday night as he was lost!)

And I'm not saying Ely guy has made everything in my life perfect and amazing as I'm trying to keep my head out of the clouds and my feet on the ground - I have fears he might be one of those 'too good to be true' types - but I haven't had feelings like this for someone in more time than I care to remember so I'm just going with it!

Well, this has been an epic entry. Next one will be the Glastonbury photo one with hopefully many a random tale to accompany it.

previous | next