strawberrri.diaryland.com
Here we go anyway
2007-09-08 | 2:35 p.m.

So I've survived my first week as a freelance court reporter. Admittedly I spent most of my time pretending I could keep up with the speed people talk at, which I most certainly cannot (I wish Stephen Hawking was a barrister, sigh).

I often stumble over how to write certain words on my steno and either ignore them entirely (oi, inevitable, you've got five syllables, FUCK OFF) or sit there pondering a word's abbreviation and as a result would miss the next eight sentences of speech. All fun and games I tell you, plus it's all recorded on tape so I am one laid back court reporting laydee.

I've had a taste of things to come anyway and have realised this mostly involves:

1) People not knowing who you are or what you're doing.

2) People ignoring you completely.

3) People thinking you're the court clerk.

4) Jurors getting overexcitable/curious about you. One yesterday announced to pretty much all of London, 'I want to hold the door open for this girl and her machine!' then asked me to explain how it worked.

At least no fully grown, be-suited men have come up to me to ask permission to go to the toilet. (I still can't believe this once happened and continually chuckle heartily at the memory.)

No two days are EVER the same, which I think is what I like the most.

Enough talk about shop - it's the weekend! I'm driving to Tori's later this afternoon and do you know where I think I'm going to be tonight? Drunk, that's where.

previous | next