strawberrri.diaryland.com
1000th entry!
2008-01-06 | 1:03 a.m.

I have not really had the most brilliant start to the year. On New Year's Day I fell UP the stairs, both grazing AND bruising my knee. The same day I began developing a cold, felt feverish throughout the night and yet somehow made it to work the following day. I walked in perspiring like I had the sun tangled up in my hair and announced to my colleagues it was boiling outside, when it reality it was about 5 degrees celcius.

I am quite certainly on the mend though, which is just as well because I HAD A DATE TONIGHT!

I didn't mean to conceal this information, it's just I'm so unbothered about such things these days.

Ok, background: I went out on Christmas Eve, which I documented here. What I neglected to mention in my dear diary is that on that night I happened to bump into a man-type who goes by the name of Matt, who I worked with in the catalogue shop of nightmares - Argos - some seven years ago, when I was doing my A levels.

When I was 17ish I used to see him out all the time when I partook in a bit of the old underage clubbing, but until the other week I hadn't seen him in many a moon and had forgotten about him. He's spent the past two years living in Australia and I was at uni in Leicester for three years prior to that, which explains things.

On Christmas Eve I swapped numbers with him and when he asked me out the only reason I didn't say no was because I couldn't come up with a good enough excuse not to (I still love 'Crocodiles bit off my face,' but I'm yet to use it) so ended up out with him tonight. We went to the flicks and saw St Trinian's (really quite amusing indeed! Plus has Stephen Fry and Colin Firth).

I did have a nice time but after everything that's happened over the past year and a half it's like someone has taken a nailfile to all my emotional nerve endings and worn them down so I will never feel anything ever again. I'm just...numb. I mean, I let him kiss me as I dropped him off home, but the main thing going through my mind was that I hoped he didn't notice I had a cold and most definitely a dewdrop in my right nostril.

Like I said, he's spent the past two years in Aus so what did he bring home? Not a koala bear, not a didgeridoo, not an actor from Neighbours, but... a bonefide Australian accent! It is most peculiar.

Watch this space for more *mega* excitement.


previous | next