strawberrri.diaryland.com
Lay back
2008-01-19 | 12:28 p.m.

I have now been to to the gym this year the same amount of times I went for the whole of 2007. Isn't that an amazing feat?!

Well, no, frankly. I feel I should probably reveal how many times I went to the gym last year.

And that would be, um, two.

So I went to the gym this morning and actually enjoyed it. Fret not, I'm not turning into some rowing machine geek - my enjoying a trip to the gym comes around about as often as Halley's comet does. Usually I'm on the treadmill pounding it with mock vigour, a stitch and sweat pouring down my face thinking 'WHY HAS ONLY ONE MINUTE OF TIME ELAPSED SINCE I GOT ON HERE?'

I don't know why a week's gone by since I've bothered writing in here. Oh yes I do! My life has been one tedious continuum of work, work, work. Usually I like my job but it's been hard-going this week. I was especially displeased when a policeman told me he wanted to order the entire transcript of the week-long trial I was in. I think he may change his mind when he discovers this will cost about �20 per five minutes of speech.

Last Saturday was great though, when I went gallavanting around London with Tori and Natalie. One entertaining moment was when we were in the Lloyds in Soho and I ordered a jug of Vodka Redbull. The barman kindly made me one and told me 'That's a fiver.'

Confused by why he was knocking about �10 off the price I believed I replied with a sophisticated 'Eh??' to which he said 'You're not going to tell anyone about this are you?' I solemnly informed him that no I would not, before parting with a five pound note and running gleefully back to our table loudly exclaiming 'Hey Tor, GUESS WHAT?!'

Never trust me with a secret is the moral to that tale, I think.

We unfortunately missed the last train back to mine and I quite idiotically tried prising the doors of a completely different train open with my bare fingers, even though it wasn't going anywhere. Then we decided (well, 'decided' is quite a strong word; it was our only option left) to go back to Tori's, before doing which she gave her scarf to a tramp.

Amusing times indeed.

previous | next