strawberrri.diaryland.com
Giant rats that are saving lives
2008-02-10 | 9:09 p.m.

What a weekend! I've done more stuff in two days than I normally do in two weeks. I wish more could be like this.

Friday night was Russell who I worked with's leaving do, which involved going to the pub with all the old ex-trainees, people getting tanked on cherry beer and enjoying themselves. Succeeded in staying awake on my train home and not ending up in Edinburgh. Twas good. Saturday I managed to fit in going to town and for a bike ride before going over to my dad's, the main reason for which was that Adam had come down for the weekend, and late afternoon we went to watch Stevenage Borough play footie against Cambridge (Lost. Booo).

Today - having stayed over my dad's went to Wandlebury Country Park to take the kid brother and dog for a walk. The dog got tired after ten minutes and refused to move, looking sad. I had to push her in the pushchair (pictures coming soon hopefully!) much to the amusement of strangers. Came back, had Sunday lunch, drove home, went on another bike ride as the world's gone mad and it's like summer outside (plus I needed to burn off the five cakes I had as dessert...Oh my GOD I wish I was exaggerating) and been re-assembling my newly decorated room this evening. I'm not long off collapsing into bed.

My little brother was quite cute and likeable this time round, however he had a tantrumous moment this morning which involved him threatening the older brother with GBH: 'I'll hurt you, I'll bleed you,' were his exact, worrying words. Of course I helped matters no end by promptly bursting into fits of laughter.

Ah.

In other news I got my wish; I'm now working permanently at the Old Bailey. This is so fantastic that I could quite happily go out in public and dance a jig of joy, both confusing and upsetting people. What is not fantastic is that tomorrow I have been given a short day (which would normally be great) so that when I'm done I can go back to my previous workplace and pack up and take all my stuff from the office.

I call it my Day of Dread (TM) as it's like going to the house of someone you've recently dumped to get all your belongings back. I have a feeling the two senior reporters probably hate me for abandoning them without really speaking about wanting to leave, but I spent six months trying to make everyone there happy, making myself immensely un in the process. I don't think they would have given me the ok to leave if I had broached it with them, even though my presence was, in a way, superfluous. I just know it's going to be horribly unpleasant. And I do feel bad about it.

Going to leave this now, as I've written virtually an entire book on one page. And await the arrival of tomorrow.

previous | next