strawberrri.diaryland.com
Going nowhere
2008-03-27 | 7:36 p.m.

My state of mind concerns me, as upon entering St Pancras International station this morning, hearing alarms and an announcement (which I didn't understand because it was in French) ordering people to flee to safe land, I was more concerned about whether I would be able to get my train than whether, you know, the exact spot I was standing on was about to blow up.

People were rushing past me in a panic to get outside and I was taking tentative steps over to the display board, delighted at seeing it all seemed on schedule. (It was a false alarm, otherwise I probably wouldn't be writing this.)

So Easter has been and gone, and Rachel has been and gone also, sadly. I felt bereft once she'd departed, left with only the constant reminders of discarded SNES games and Twister ice lolly wrappers.

The weather though, seriously. When she stayed for Easter last year we went on a trip to frigging Chessington World of Adventures! The snow kept us in mostly this time, though we did manage a walk on Tuesday morning and a trip to the cinema on Saturday (the Orphanage - OH MY GOD. If you enjoy being COMPLETELY FREAKED OUT BY A KID IN A MASK then this is the film for you!)

Rach also kept me amused with her random comments which clearly aren't vetted by her brain before exiting her mouth:

Gah, only one comes to mind, which was after we'd watched my Babe DVD (yes, that pig film) and the end credits were scrolling merrily up the screen:

Rachel: 'Why do all those sheep have different surnames?'

Me: 'Erm...those are the names of the *actors*, not the actual sheep.'

So that was my Easter. I am excited about being back at work because I have a barristers' party tomorrow, (note to self: try not to snog any barristers am in current trial with) so we get lovely champagne and stuff to celebrate them becoming Queen's Counsel. Of course my main objective is to see if there's any fancy silverware I can liberate, which is a perfectly good reason for wanting to attend a party if you ask me. How worrying.

previous | next