strawberrri.diaryland.com
Throughout the night
2008-03-29 | 5:51 p.m.

God, I am so dehydrated that a short while ago I climbed into the bathtub and proceeded to drink the shower.

Last night was fantastic! We didn't go to A barrister's party but three! Each in separate, lovely posh places with names like Chancery Hall, where we did lots of champagne-drinking, mingling with legal types and enjoying general merriment. It's safe to say I was quite trashed by the end of it, though in a good way.

My current trial, which is nearing its end after more than two months, has 14 barristers in it (yes, 14!) and I saw about half of them at the various parties and did a bit of hob-nobbing with them sans wigs (them, that is. I have to make do with my own hair in court).

I believe I may have displeased one of them who decided to ask me whether I thought his defendant was going to escape a murder conviction, as my response was to say 'Oh, definitely not, he's going dooo-own!' in a mocking, sing-song voice. Just what I need at work, new enemies (although The Barrister was kind enough to inform me that apparently I am well-liked among them all, which was nice to hear).

So I think the moral of the tale is that working with people who earn as much money in one day as you do in a month can be really great.

The order of the evening for me is pizza and an early night. Heaven.

previous | next