strawberrri.diaryland.com
Make my head spin
2008-04-01 | 10:29 p.m.

Ok, so I know diaries are meant to be private and personal and everything, except for the fact that online blogs are pretty much the antithesis to this. This is why sometimes I gloss over details and am pretty vague when I don't want to give too much away.

The barristers' parties of Friday. Yes, those. I believe I mentioned that The Barrister was there. I believe I did not mention that I spent an amount of time with him (sigh...sometimes when I start drinking it's more like I'm pouring a contract down my neck confirming I'll do something or other fairly idiotic). I ended up having quite a fair heart to heart with him and...anyway, yes.

One of the things he now knows is that I'm boyfriendless and lonely. JOY.

Today I didn't see him in the morning, but when I went back to court in the afternoon I found a carrier bag on my chair, tucked discreetly under the desk. In it was a wrapped up package, with a message instructing me to open it at a 'quiet moment'.

I got the fear. I didn't know what it might be. I painstakingly didn't open it until I'd travelled home from London and got back to my car in a deserted car park, and felt the time was safe enough.

So I ripped it open and was greeted with a bag of tropical fruit mix, which was, you know, nice and everything. Then I saw next to it a small green bag. And inside that an even SMALLER green bag. And inside that was a box wrapped with a white ribbon and then another box and after eighteen long hours of unwrapping had elapsed (I jest) I discovered he had got me a necklace.

From freakin' TIFFANY'S.

Oh dear.

It's got a happy ending though, I suppose - our trial's jury is now out deliberating its verdicts, which shouldn't take much more than a week. Then I may never see him again!

previous | next