strawberrri.diaryland.com
You should know by now
2008-04-29 | 8:29 p.m.

Since Tesco put the price of their strawberries up a few days ago, along with being both irritated and cross, I made the firm decision that I was not going to buy them from there anymore. Therefore this evening I made a small detour to Asda on my way home, with the intention of buying some strawberries, safe in the knowledge that they were considerably cheaper and and I would save myself some pennies.

How wise and thrifty.

So obviously you can guess what happens. In I go and 45 minutes later out I waddle, weighed down by �23.33 worth of shopping. Worryingly, I thought I was being constraint. I don't know what went wrong - it was all a bit of a manic spree. It started off with throwing a bra and a pack of 5 pants into my basket and from then on I was like a snowball rolling down a big, sticky, snowy hill. Undies led to nail varnish ("�1.50? What a bargain!"), spot cream which probably won't work, a classy plastic goblet I decided was perfect for drinking my Skittles vodka out of at Glastonbury, pineapple fingers and also Dijon mustard ("I can't remember if I like it, but how can I go wrong when it's only �1.00?!").

I don't earn a massive amount but it IS a considerable sum more than this time last year, when I was on a pitiful trainee wage. Yet somehow (and I can't possibly imagine why) I still manage to spend all my money until I'm pretty much down to the very dregs of my bank account.

It's like my money and the month I have to make it last for are in a race against each other a la tortoise and hare, only the month ends up being...oh I'm fucked if I can remember how that story goes - whichever one that lags massively behind.

I've got a lot to be thankful for, though. There were a lot of happy faces in my office today, when news came through that the Ministry of Justice is putting off replacing us with robots for a little while longer and we're needed until at least January 2010. I'm delighted, because I love my job. (Not that you would be able to tell, because I never go on about it at all or anything!) And we have yet more barristers-celebrating-becoming-QCs parties this Thursday. It really doesn't get much better. Let the champagne flow free. Amen.


previous | next