strawberrri.diaryland.com
But play
2008-05-12 | 11:30 p.m.

I had the best weekend. I love May and it is now my new favourite month (it was always July before, but I've not been as fond of Julys in recent years) as you get the light evenings, the warm days and the knowledge that there's still June, July, August and September to enjoy.

Saturday was spent in Cambridge, as I mentioned time the last. And how great it was. I got there mid-afternoon and we had a barbecue, went for an extremely fun night out and stumbled back to Si's at some point in the morning, doing damage limitation to our hangovers by having lovely chips and leftover barbecue, before slinking to bed at 5.00 am.

On Sunday, by happy coincidence, my older brother was down visiting my dad, so I got a token invitation out for Sunday lunch with my other fam, including the half-sibling. I still have no maternal instincts (which is just as well considering I have concerns over my ability to reproduce. I have had a grand total of two very light periods this year. Apologies for TMI) but, anyway, the kid is alright, if a bit spoilt.

I took him over to the pond in the pub garden to look at what was in it and got far more excited than he did: 'Oh my God, that Koi Carp is MULTI-COLOURED.' and then 'Look at that frog, look at it! It's brown! And...BREATHING!' To be fair, I can't remember the last time I saw a frog. But a brown, breathing frog, eh?

I do think the kid brother is going to grow up to be quite amusing though. As we were tucking into dessert I asked him how his ice cream was. He looked at me in a thoughtful manner and replied that his ice cream was 'chilly,' at which I nearly snorted chocolate sponge pudding out of my nose.

This evening I have bought myself a USB flash drive from Play.com. I have obviously been living in a technology-deprived cave because I have literally, only in the last week, learned what one is. Today I borrowed one from the Bailey to bring some work home and I can't get over its capabilities and think it's AMAZING.

In that sense it's in the same league as brown frogs. You know, ones that even breathe and everything.

previous | next