strawberrri.diaryland.com
When you find there's nothing
2008-06-11 | 9:29 p.m.

Well, I suppose I should update!

Since Sunday, the Junior Barrister and I have been emailing one another. I don't mean puny little emails, but proper ones.

Unfortunately this has helped the lurching, sick-but-in-a-good-way feeling in my stomach no end, as he has come across as friendly, funny and, weirdest of all, completely on my wavelength.

No more full copy and paste jobs I'm afraid, people - a girl's entitled to SOME privacy - but I'll quote a little bit of what he said when talking about my day out to visit the Jill Dando murder scene (which, by the way, was *the* most exciting day of my career, but that's neither here nor there):

"I assume your day of holding a dictaphone for a judge was filled with all the pleasures (but hopefully not the spittle) one would imagine from such a role?"

(My day was indeed spittle-free, thankfully!)

And what's more, he seemed keen to meet me properly in person.

Which brings us up to today...

I finished early for lunch and when I saw the usual stenographer for his court come back in our office, I made a beeline out. This was despite wondering if it was really such a good idea, as I felt about ready to throw up on his feet should I see him.

He was where I thought he'd be. We talked for a while (I blushed the whole time. For shame) and...he came across in person exactly as he did over email.

I AM the person he hoped sent him the message (he says!). And he asked for my phone number, which, of course, he's now in possession of.

And that's as far as it goes...for now.

If this is what happens when you grab at opportunities (even if you do risk loss of dignity) then I'm going to do it more often. I'm so glad I did.

previous | next