strawberrri.diaryland.com
I know, I know it's serious
2008-06-15 | 11:57 a.m.

Crikey. Whoever it was that said that the only thing permanent in life is change certainly wasn't mincing their words.

In the past week my closest friend has split up with her boyfriend of two and a half years, my stepdad has walked out on my mum (and subsequently slunk back while she has fucked off to Wales for a week) and at some point next week I should be going for lunch or a drink or similar with the Junior Barrister.

Now, what it is they say about buses? They're big and red and shiny. No, wait! Sometimes more than one turns up at the same time and you're left wondering which to board.

Last night Katie and I had a planned night out, to take her mind off the fact she is now in Splitsville, and earlier in the day my friend Si happened to get in touch to say he would be coming round my way from Cambridge with a couple of friends, to see some live music in a pub in the Old Town. Si is probably my best boy mate and so of course I wanted to meet up with him. After a couple of drinks across the road Katie and I tottered over to meet them and ended up having a fantastic time (even though the band never showed up!).

One of the friends Si brought along was Shaun.

I have always liked Shaun and in fact I had another 'seizing the day'- esque moment in February last year. I let him know I was interested in him and he in turn told me he had a girlfriend and that was that.

He does not have a girlfriend now and last night took a liking to me after we bonded over a mutual love of the Smiths. So you can see where this is going and I don't need to elaborate further. They also stayed over mine and I've just dropped them off at the station, came home and had pizza for breakfast.

The thing is, I can't get the Junior Barrister out of my head. He has caused me nerves and excitement to the point that over that past week or so my weight has plummeted by half a stone. So why do I feel like I've fucked everything up before anything's had a chance to happen?

previous | next