strawberrri.diaryland.com
You can do anything you want to do
2008-07-25 | 6:59 p.m.

The other day I received a text message from a number I didn't recognise. It said: 'Hey this is 2 all my peps its my bday this sat n every 1 is welcome 4 a drink up.'

Now, curiosity nearly - very nearly - made me reply, either asking where they were planning on going, to see if I could work out who it was, or asking who they were outright, but I honestly don't think I'm friends with someone who would write a text message so hideously. And also, if I asked who it was it would become blatant that while I may be one of his/her 'peps', they certainly aren't one of mine.

Anyway, I have a surprise birthday to attend tomorrow. I'm more than happy to go to such parties but I personally don't think I would appreciate one bestowed upon myself ever. I think the minute everyone jumped out shrieking 'SURPRISE!' I would probably stumble backwards in shock, hit my head on the stove or something and pass out. But like I said, I certainly don't mind being a shriek-ee.

I've started going to bed everynight midnight or later, having not been able to sleep early since before Glastonbury. It's amazing how quickly my body has adjusted, or perhaps not, as this morning I managed to get on the wrong freaking train at St Pancras and as it pulled into Barbican I stepped off tentatively, feeling like a worried small child and asking strangers how to get back from whence I came, all the while my voice aquiver. Trains 1, Sarah 0.

(Though I made it to work on time. Amazingly.)

Meh, I should probably update on how things are going with the Junior Barrister, the answer to which is...who the fuck knows. We've been in quite regular contact but haven't been out together. I had drunk texts off him last Friday asking if I was out in London, but this really, really isn't good enough and I have completely lost interest.

I first sent him a message on Facebook nearly TWO MONTHS ago. Seriously, people get together and get married in less time than that. Who knows though, maybe he's playing it cool and we'll do something in the next month or so because obviously doing something before you've hit the quarter-year marker just looks desperate. Maybe we could have a second date in time for Christmas, or if that's too eager then we could always wait for it to coincide with the London 2012 Olympics.

I mean, fucking hell. I know it's likely he was probably never interested and was just being polite but really, there are plenty of less wankerish ways of saying you're not interested than saying you'll arrange to do something then not doing it whatsoever. What a tosser.



previous | next