strawberrri.diaryland.com
I'd go from door to door
2008-09-26 | 8:23 p.m.

Don't you just love it when life throws unexpected surprises at you?

In short, NO.

Today after work I hotfooted it out of the house to enjoy a bike ride on what was a pretty much perfect autumn evening.

Having been happy and carefree for just under an hour and with two lungfuls of fresh countryside air, a twig decided to do this:

Photobucket

Photobucket


Unfortunately I was going at high speed down a hill when it happened.

I didn't stand a chance.

I am so, SO lucky though, as nothing is broken and I just suffered a few cuts, bruises and have had my entire lower back replaced with one massive graze.

The bike is probably a write off and I'm undoubtedly going to be a bit achey for a day or so, but do you know what's the worst thing? Someone actually drove straight past me while I lay sprawled out underneath my bike, having been too in shock to move for a couple of minutes. What a fine specimen of humanity that person is (read: cunt). Luckily I always take my phone with me so I got my stepdad to come and retrieve me and the bike corpse.

I'm not letting it spoil my weekend though (which involves seeing Gaz [insert massive smiley face]). As my stepdad succinctly put it, 'Ah well, these things happen!' And they do, it just helps hugely if you have bones which are quite clearly the most malleable in the land. What can I say? I've eaten a lot of yogurt in my lifetime.

What next? I wonder with trepidation. Watch this space.

previous | next