strawberrri.diaryland.com
See this hat, t'was my cat
2008-10-11 | 4:52 a.m.

Ah, 4.52 am of a morning. How glad I am to be awake, I say with heavy sarcasm. It's finally got to me. Up until yesterday I was as cool as the proverbial green cylindrical garden vegetable, but I've finally started cracking under the pressure.

Yesterday I had the most stressful morning in the history of stressful mornings. My house move is scheduled for Monday, as in two days' time, and I've organised everything, including taking the day off work and enlisting the help of my mum and stepdad to haul all my junk to London.

Anyway, apparently this is pretty standard, but before I could get the go ahead to move I needed to get a credit check done, you know to make sure I'm in gainful employment and not blacklisted by any banks, loan companies, the Kwik-e-Mart, etc, etc. I filled in the forms last week and they were sent off. Yesterday morning, at quarter to 9, I saw I had an answerphone message off the new landlady, saying my credit check had not yet been approved by my employers. I swear, the blood just instantly drained from my face.

I got to work, phoned the credit agency and got the most useless human being in the planet, who didn't seem to want to help me whatsoever. My employment status is a bit of an odd one. I'm officially self-employed, but actually work for a *company* who provide us with the work on a long-term basis as if we're their employees (doing this they sneakily avoid having to pay us holiday or sick pay). I had correctly stated on the form I was self-employed and gave the details of my accountant as well as that of the company I work for, Stenographers R Us(not its real name). I was told by the woman on the phone that they would be unable to accept any form of correspondence other than that from my accountant...

...WHO IS CURRENTLY IN FUCKING PORTUGAL.

Gah!

Thank fuck for the Old Bailey's acting head reporter, who sorted it all for me, mainly by speaking on the phone to someone with more than eight brain cells.

So this weekend I have got a lot to do, and no time to do any of it - a winning combination if ever I saw one. Last night I went for an Indian with my dad, tomorrow I'm having a final evening meal with my mum, stepdad and grandmother, and tonight?...

Well, because moving house isn't quite stressful enough for one weekend, I've agreed to go out for dinner in St Albans with Gaz AND HIS ENTIRE FAMILY OH DEAR LORD.

If I have time before I leave I will update about any ensuing calamities, which is quite likely considering I'm not the best at meeting boyfriends' families and usually manage to insult pets and suchlike.

Said insulted pet in the linked entry was run over and killed not long after that day.

Bodes well!



previous | next